Valentina Lisitsa against fascism in Ukraina!

LisizaValentina said: „You know, I would love – just to play, because music is an art that is never violent. You know you cannon kill someone for the better of others, after that one comes the second one, the tenth one, then they go for thousands and millions. And that is exactly what is happening in Donbass – Ukrainians are told ‚once we get rid of these people we all will live a better live‘ which is a lie, people are misled, trained to hate and hatred was firstly and rightfully directed against their government against oligarchs – but nothing changed for people.“ 

Nachdem die weltberühmte, in Kiew geborene Pianistin Walentina Lisiza sich offen gegen das faschistische Regime in der Ukraine ausgesprochen hatte, sagten ihr die Veranstalter in Toronto zwei Konzerte ab. Doch Walentina ließ sich nicht einschüchtern. Mutig vertrat sie ihren Standpunkt auf Twitter und in anderen sozialen Netzwerken. Und sie unterstützte den Kampf der Bevölkerung des Donbass gegen die Ukrofaschisten mit einem großen Open-air-Konzert in Donezk. Der ukrainische Geheimdienst erklärte daraufhin die talentierte junge Pianistin zur unerwünschten Person.

Am 22. Juni 2015 spielte Walentina Lisiza in Donezk das Klavierkonzert Nr.1 des russischen Komponisten P.I.Tschaikowski. Ein Konzert, das allen DDR-Bürgern wohlbekannt war durch die „Solidaritätskonzerte“ des Rundfunks der DDR in den 1980er Jahren..

Hier nun ihre Stellungnahme in Englisch:

The Ukraine-born pianist – Valentina Lisitsa – has started a massive online protest campaign after The Toronto Symphony Orchestra cancelled two of her performances.

I firmly believe that it was not because of my tweets but because of my general position, anti-war position and myself being ethnic Ukrainian and Ukrainian national – so I was getting in the way of certain people’s political interests. The Ukrainian community is big and multi-faceted in Toronto in Canada and US, but there was a small group of people “Anonymous” who claim to represent all Ukrainians. You see they don’t represent me or many of Ukrainians that I met here, who support my views. Yet it was because of them, because of their pressure that the Toronto Symphony decided to silence me, to silence my music. I didn’t come here to preach and to say anything political, I just came to play Rachmaninov Concerto. That is very worrisome situation, because the Orchestra actually offered me money to be quiet, just to go away. It’s a five digit number. I decided that if I exchange my freedom for money what is it there for musicians that don’t have that big social presence as I do? That is why I decided to go social, just to make that step.

Freedom of speech goes both ways, and if I was saying something, say, about President Putin I probably would be applauded, right? But not about Poroshenko, who technically is my President, I didn’t vote for him and I don’t think he was elected legally. But I’m criticizing my own government and defending my own people. I’m screaming on Twitter against the war – that is my message.

First they started accusing me of all the crimes, just to get out of contract, but then when they saw there is no legal basis they said we’ll pay your fee but you will not play. I say it’s symbolic that this money will go for very good cause. I tweet about it all the time, about little children, about women, about old people who are starving and do not have any basic necessities. They need all the help they can get, and we need to deliver that help to the people of Donbass. They just don’t know how to approach me, because I’m criticized for my legal right to criticize my government, so they decided to do it quietly, they didn’t know I will go public. And I didn’t know what media storm it will be, and how much support I will get. People come in support of me because freedom of speech is our universal human right. You know, I would love – just to play, because music is an art that is never violent.
You know you cannon kill someone for the better of others, after that one comes the second one, the tenth one, then they go for thousands and millions. And that is exactly what is happening in Donbass – Ukrainians are told “once we get rid of these people we all will live a better live” which is a lie, people are misled, trained to hate and hatred was firstly and rightfully directed against their government against oligarchs – but nothing changed for people, except now they hate each other and are ready to kill each other!


The Orchestra’s decision was explained by the concerns over pianist’s – quote – „deeply offensive“ and „provocative“ online remarks about the conflict in Ukraine that Lisitsa was posting on social networks.

Twitter was quick to support her stand for the freedom of speech with a barrage of tweets hashtagged #Let–Valentina-Play.


 

 

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Uncategorized veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Eine Antwort zu Valentina Lisitsa against fascism in Ukraina!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

